A weekend in Bergen, Norway

Bergen is known as the gateway to the fjords but it’s more than that. Being the second biggest city in Norway after its capital Oslo, Bergen will make you feel like you are in a calm and tranquil fishing village where its old town has been recognised as a UNESCO heritage site. If you go to Bergen be ready to be fascinated by its small houses made of wood and their little side streets, wild forests in the mountains that surround the city, delicious fish from its fish market and fun boat trips that will let you admire the beauty of the Norwegian nature.

IMG_3722.JPGIMG_3757.JPGIMG_3729

My trip started with a boat trip to see the fjords. The company we chose was Rodne Fjord Cruise (http://www.rodne.no/) and we were happy with our decision! Our inicial plan was to go on a Safari of the fjords but taking into account how bad the weather is in Bergen (13 degrees and heavy rain in  July!) I’m glad we chose a boat where you can warm up and drink hot chocolate when it got too cold outside. The trip took around 3 hours and a half and we had the chance to see little villages by the sea, forests, waterfalls, fjords and salmon farms.

IMG_3773IMG_3802IMG_3809IMG_3823IMG_3837IMG_3840

The staff were also super friendly and I’d like to thank Oscar for giving me the chance to dress up in waterproof clothing to stand up under a waterfall to get some water in a bucket! It was an unforgettable experience!

Back in town we were hungry so we went to the fish market for lunch. Norway is known for being very expensive but the market is a great place to try some of the local delicacies without spending too much. Something that shocked me is that they sold whale meat but I went for the salmon balls which were delicious!

IMG_3895IMG_3896

Once your belly is full head towards Bryggen, the landmark of the city. The houses were the place where the boats left their goods for storage but now there are different shops in there. But there is more to see than the outside of those pretty houses…go into the little streets between them and you will see a lot of balconies, stairs, complicated doors, windows and banisters. Nearby you will also find a fortress and Saint Mary’s church.

IMG_3915IMG_3916IMG_3921IMG_3922IMG_3929IMG_3930

Another must see in Bergen is Mount Floyen, one of the most visited mountains in Bergen. If it is not as cloudy as it was when I visited you will get the chance to see stunning views of the city and enjoy a trip up the hill in a funicular. The best part of Floyen was the forest around it. The colours and the nature in it were incredible. Don’t worry about getting lost, there are lots of signs indicating where you are…but there are also some funny signs telling you about witches and baby dinosaurs living there!

IMG_3985IMG_3989IMG_3994IMG_4006IMG_4010IMG_4015IMG_4017IMG_4035IMG_4037

If you’ve got some extra time head to the different museums in town. Our favourite was  Bryggen museum where we learnt how the city changed over the years and how fire affected it.

 

14 thoughts on “A weekend in Bergen, Norway

  1. I loved your tour of Bergen. It looks wonderful – in spite of 13C in July!
    I laughed out loud at the *sign* sign 😀

    I wished I had had more time to spend in Norway … particularly to take one of those tours through the fjords. Oh well, maybe next time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can honestly say that I have never wanted to visit Norway for some reason. It just has never sounded interesting- but your words and photos turned that all around! Now I’m looking at flights!!!! It is beautiful! Do you use a special camera or just your phone for photos? They are gorgeous. I love the idea of your blog- the weekend in theme. I’m hoping to travel as a student one day- so weekends will be my travel time! I’ll definitely be reading this post before I head to norway!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your kind words. Norway is fascinating! Now I really want to see Trondheim and Stavanger too. I’ve been to Oslo and it was great as well (plus there’s really cheap flights to get there) https://weekendadventures.wordpress.com/2015/11/21/oslo/

      I’ve been using a Canon Powershot sx20 bridge camera but last week I got a new Olympus pen e-pl7 that I can’t wait to use. I’m soooo impressed with it so far!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s great! Really light and small but with DSLR quality and lots of lenses you can use, so perfect for travelling. It’s got wifi to send your photos to your phone and you can even use your phone as a remote…And on top of that it’s a beautiful camera too!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m going to Bergen and Olso next week (as part of a larger euro-trip) and this has got me really excited! I’ve spent a fair amount of time around Trondheim/Rorvik in Norway and just fell in love with the people and the place – I can’t wait to see these two iconic cities 🙂

    Ash

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

