A weekend in Transylvania

One day I randomly booked flights to this place called Sibiu in Romania. It looked pretty, it was cheap to get there and it was also in Transylvania, a place I had always wanted to see. What I didn’t know was that this region had so much to offer and not long after reading some information about Romania I kept on adding places to the list of things that I wanted to see. Taking into account that I only had a weekend to visit Transylvania I think I did very well, but I will go back to see other cities like Sighisoara and other castles like Peles or Rasnov (if you have never heard of them it is worth checking them out!).

The first place I wanted to see was Bran Castle and I am so happy I went there.  The countryside around it is beautiful, the views from there are magical and the building itself is  impressive. Many people think of it as Dracula’s castle but the reality is that Bram Stoker never went there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Near this castle you will also find Rasnov. A good tip that I wish I had known before is that the bus that goes to Bran stops there too. If you manage to communicate with the bus driver (not many people there spoke English) make sure you stop there.

Also not far from Bran you can also see another incredible place in Transylvania, Brasov. I only spent a few hours there, which were enough to explore its colourful old town. Unfortunately I couldn’t go inside the Black Church as it closed at 4 pm, but if you happen to be in Brasov go there to enjoy some amazing panoramic view of the city.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back in Sibiu a day should be more than enough to explore the city. It is small but a very unique place where the houses seem to have eyes in the roofs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some highlights of Sibiu are:

The Council Tower to see the city from above. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Lutheran Chuch, probably the most important landmark in the city and an impressive monument of Gothic architecture.

PB060131.JPG

The Lier’s Bridge, which connects the lower town and the upper town.

PB060194.JPG

The defence towers and wall.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Holy Trinity Metropolitan Cathedral.

PB060189.JPGOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One last tip, don’t forget to try the “kurtoskalacs”, a traditional sweet from the region which is delicious!

PB050069.JPG

13 thoughts on “A weekend in Transylvania

  1. Your photos are gorgeous and have just re-enforced my desire to visit Romania! I particularly liked the photos of the houses with eyes in the roof. Very different! I’ve never seen anything like this anywhere else.

    The first photo of Bran Castle is wonderful. It looks like it was built right out of the rock.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Romania has so many hidden gems! I can’t wait to explore more castles, towns and nature there. There are not many tourists there so it is easy to get lost as there aren’t many signs for directions and most people don’t speak English but as long as you do a bit of research before going it’ll be fine!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There are so many wonderful things to see in Romania…
        Places, people, ancient traditions preserved and …food, very tasty food.
        If you plan to visit more, please let me know . I will be happy to help.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

