A day in Salzburg

Not even a weekend this time, but just a day! I would have loved to stay longer in this beautiful Austrian town but the most convenient flights I could find were from  Saturday morning to Sunday morning. I did a bit of research before booking my trip and in the end I thought I could do all the things I wanted in one dayP1210179.JPG

Salzburg was cold in January and it got to -13 degrees but as long as you’re prepared for it it should not be a problem…and this comes from a Spaniard who can’t stand anything below 7 degrees. I loved to see the city covered in snow as I landed and it made me feel like I was going to Narnia and not Austria.

Salzburg can also be a great side trip if you visit Munich or Vienna so if you happen to only have one day to visit, here are some ideas.

Go to the museum of modern art becase this place is so much more than a museum. Inside there is a lift that will take you up a hill to see a panoramic view of the city. There is also a big park where you can go for a relaxing walk while you enjoy the incredible landscape. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Head to the fortress and admire the beautiful architecture in the meantime. P1210142.JPG

Hohensalzburg castle is a fortress and one of the biggest medieval castles in Europe. Its construction began in 1077 and it is very well preserved. Inside you will be able to go to different exhibitions, walk around its little side streets and once again admire another view of the city from above.P1210181.JPGOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Right next to the castle is also the beautiful baroque cathedral. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After a morning walking around I would recommend having a tasty “schnitzel”and walk towards the Mirabell Gardens, famous for being a setting of the film The Sound of Music. To get here you will have to cross the river to go to the other side of the city but it is very walkable and it should not take more than 15 minutes. In my case the amount of snow did not let me see much of what the gardens probably have to offer any other season but I loved visiting them and their sculptures.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once you’re done with the main landmarks of the city I also recommend going for a stroll along the river to see Salzburg from different perspectives. The photos you can take from here just look like postcards. If it gets too cold there are also a lot of beautiful cafes in the area to get some hot chocolate and apfelstrudel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

9 thoughts on “A day in Salzburg

  1. It does look like Narnia! I feel freezing just by looking at all that snow. From your photos, I can tell that you definitely managed to squeeze in some of the city’s most iconic sites in just one day, which is quite impressive.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting. I’m headed to Munich in Semana Santa and am debating on just a day trip or to stay the night…I heard there was a beautiful lake nearby that I want to go to, but I also want to go to Innsbruck another day so…muchos sitios poco tiempo 🙂 Thanks for the post…much more excited now than I already was after seeing the snowy photos (even if I’ll be there in spring).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Like you, we did a one day side trip to Salzburg and LOVED the city. Fortunately we saw it in summer and yes, the gardens were beautiful.
    I enjoyed your tour of the city in winter. I hadn’t realized the old castle was quite THAT old!!
    Your photos brought back some very nice memories 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

